Former racer Lucas Dumbrell remains the youngest team owner in the V8 Supercar Championship Series as he enters his sixth year at the helm of Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport.

At the tender age of 19, Dumbrell made history and established the team after an accident in a Formula Ford at Oran Park in late 2008 left him a quadriplegic and stripped him of his life long dream of competing in V8 Supercars as a driver.

Dumbrell, who had raced in Aussie Racing Cars and Formula Ford, didn’t lose his passion for motorsport and purchased a Racing Entitlements Contract from the now-defunct Sprint Gas Racing and arranged an alliance with Walkinshaw Racing, who provided a car, engines and technical support for LDM’s first two seasons.

The first season saw Daniel Gaunt, Cameron McConville, Mark Noske and Nathan Pretty take the seat of the #30 Gulf Western Commodore, before Warren Luff took the seat in 2011 for the duration of the season.

In 2013, the team branched out to a two-car program, signing Scott Pye and Dean Fiore. However, they weren’t able to fulfill their true potential and reverted back to a one-car entry in 2014.

The signing of category veteran Russell Ingall for their single-car entry helped the team move forward and score their best result of 4th at Symmons Plains.

LDM revert back to a two-car line-up this year, signing young guns Nick Percat and Tim Blanchard to fill the seats of their two Holden Commodore’s.